If you are switching to Insync from another syncing client (i.e. Google Backup & Sync), you might not want to sync all of your files again. You can use Insync while keeping all of your synced files using our file-matching feature which was released in version 1.3.

This means that Insync will try to match your local (filesystem) and remote (Google Drive) files to avoid deletions, duplicates, and unnecessary uploads or downloads. 

There are two main cases where you would find file-matching useful, namely reinstalling Insync and migrating from Backup & Sync to Insync.

Reinstalling Insync 

Users may need to reinstall Insync due to various reasons. As long as you do not delete the Insync folder (ie where all files were synced) Insync will match the files to your local storage and process those that are missing. All your accounts and synced files will be retained. 

Migrating from Backup & Sync

If you’re a Backup & Sync user, you might prefer not to re-sync your files as it may be time-consuming or inefficient to your workflow. 

When setting up Insync, you will be asked to confirm your default location. This is where all your files will be synced.

Insync creates a default path for you (ie C:\Users\carme\alex.syncs@gmail.com), but if you prefer not to resync your files, you can click Change and point it to your old Backup & Sync folder, or the folder where your files are. Insync will detect the existing folder and will match the items inside with the contents of your Google Drive. 

After pointing it to the desired folder and finishing the setup, you’ll notice that blue badges will appear beside your files. 

The Progress tab will also queue your files as Insync indexes through your Drive files to ensure no deletions and duplication occur. Once Insync is done file-matching, you can access your files from your local system. 

Did this answer your question?