Many of our users uninstall and reinstall Insync for various reasons. Here are some things to keep in mind:

Reinstalling without removing the config/program files

  • On Insync 3, the config/program files are stored in your data and live folders.

  • This means Insync will pick up from where you left off. This is ideal if you want to do simple troubleshooting steps.

  • Do not choose an empty Base Folder when re-adding an account. This leads to data loss; the now empty folder gets detected by Insync and the app assumes that the user removed all of the files locally hence resulting in cloud deletions.

Reinstalling after removing the config/program files

  • This will result in a fresh setup. Insync will take you to the onboarding from the beginning. This is ideal if you want a complete do-over of your Insync setup.

  • Users can select an empty/new base folder without any risk of data loss.

Did this answer your question?