The primary guide for dual boot can be found here.

Insync handles file deletions a little differently on dual boot. We err on the side of caution to prevent any unwanted data loss on your account. For the use cases below, we include scenarios where a deletion takes place while Insync is primarily online, but highlight the behavior when the app is offline.

Precondition:

  1. OS A: Externally sync a folder to a shared partition/drive

  2. OS B: Externally sync the same folder in OS A to the same shared partition/drive

Case 1: Local to Cloud (L2C) deletion while Insync is offline:

  1. User syncs File A and File B in the folder on OS A

  2. User switches to OS B

  3. File A and B should be completely synced

  4. User deletes File A locally on OS B then quits Insync

  5. User deletes File B locally on OS B while Insync is not running

  6. User restarts Insync on OS B

  7. File B should be unsynced instead of deleted (since changes were made offline)

  8. User switches back to OS A

  9. File A should be deleted, but not File B.

Case 2: Cloud to Local (C2L) deletion while Insync is offline:

  1. User syncs File A and B in the folder on OS A

  2. User switches to OS B

  3. File A and B should be synced on OS B

  4. On the web browser, user deletes File A.

  5. File A should be deleted on OS B.

  6. User quits Insync on OS B and deletes File B via the web browser. File B should also be deleted locally once the user restarts Insync on OS B.

  7. Once the user switches back to OS A, then both File A and B should be deleted.

Did this answer your question?