Insync 3 integrates its trash feature with the user’s system trash folder. Synced files that are remotely deleted or unshared with you will go to your system trash (
Trash for Mac/Linux and
Recycle Bin for Windows).
What are the two types of Insync deletes on a user’s machine?
- Remote: i.e. If
Folder Ais deleted on
Machine 1, it gets deleted from
Machine 2if it's synced
- Unshared with you: i.e.
Folder Ais owned by
User Band shared to
User A. If
Folder Ais synced on
User A's computer,
User Bunsharing it with him will lead to
Folder Abeing deleted on
User A's computer
What if you delete a synced file/folder from your filesystem, file manager or an app you use?
- Insync will detect the change and sync it (i.e. delete the file/folder) on Google Drive or OneDrive
- Insync doesn't have control whether it goes to your system trash (
How can files be retrieved after deletion?
- Users can browse the deletes in their file manager’s trash and recover if needed.
- For troubleshooting or investigating deletes, users can go to their Google Drive/OneDrive trash or local system trash.
Note: Users can empty their system trash to recover space.